De-Escalation – What Does This Mean?
Use of Force Policy Development and Training Standards

Thursday, October 11, 2018 – 2:00 PM EST / 1:00 PM CST

Register Now

Registration for our next webinar will be opening soon.

Daigle Law Group LLC is proud to continue the 2018 Fall Legal/Policy Development Webinar Series. These seminars are designed to provide Department executives and those responsible for policy development with options and tools to ensure their policies are effective.

We are proud to continue the series with a FREE webinar open to everyone.

De-Escalation – What Does This Mean? Use of Force Policy Development and Training Standards (1 hour)

Thursday, October 11, 2018 – 2:00 PM Eastern / 1:00 PM Central / 12:00 PM Mountain / 11 AM Pacific

When Police Officers are involved in a use of force incident, the public directs much of its attention toward the circumstances surrounding the incident prior to the use of force. This is especially true if the incident is perceived to have been handled correctly. In most incidents, the opportunity to de-escalate the incident is present, and thus potentially preventable. However, that is not always the case.

De-Escalation is a term that is being used across the Country to evaluate the means to reduce police use of force. What does this term mean? The term is used by Law Enforcement, the media and experts as a required standard during use of force incidents. De-Escalation has been a part of use of force training since the beginning. Ensuring that officers decrease the severity of the force use in an incident in direct response to a decrease in the level of resistance. How does this De-Escalation term effect our policy and training?

The law enforcement community is attempting to understand what De-Escalation is. The purpose of this webinar is to examine legal standards applicable to de-escalation tactics and the Courts interpretation especially when dealing with subjects who are incapacitated or suffering from mental illness.

These seminars are produced to provide general information on the topics presented. They are distributed with the understanding that the publisher (Daigle Law Group, LLC) is not engaged in rendering legal or professional services to those who participate in the seminar and receive information. Although these seminars are prepared by professionals, they should not be used as a substitute for professional services. If legal or other professional advice is required, the services of a professional should be sought.

Presented By: Attorney Eric Daigle

Mr Brightside

Attorney Daigle specializes in Civil Rights litigation and Law Enforcement Operations Consultant. Attorney Daigle also conducts training across the Country on LE Operations. Attorney Daigle acts in his capacity as a Law Enforcement Consultant providing guidance and oversight to department command staff on policy development, operations, force response, and risk management.